States, Capitals and Territories of United States

The United States of America is made up of 50 constituent states, a federal district (being Washington D.C. or District of Columbia the capital city of the United States), five major territories and various minor islands, which are uninhabited and many of them are for military purposes. The 48 contiguous states and its federal district, are in North America between Canada and Mexico, while Alaska is in the far northwestern part of North America and Hawaii is an archipelago in the mid-Pacific. Territories of the United States are scattered throughout the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea.

At its establishment in 1776, there were 13 states that made up the United States, these states are called The Thirteen Colonies (also known as the Thirteen British Colonies or the Thirteen American colonies), and these were: Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. However, over the years the number of states has expanded to the current total of 50, with Hawaii being the most recent state, which was admitted to the Union on August 21, 1959.

List of States and Capitals

Below is an table with the 50 constituent states and capitals of United States in alphabetical order

Alabama (AL)Montgomery
Alaska (AK)Juneau
Arizona (AZ)Phoenix
Arkansas (AR)Little Rock
California (CA)Sacramento
Colorado (CO)Denver
Connecticut (CT)Hartford
Delaware (DE)Dover
Florida (FL)Tallahasse
Georgia (GA)Atlanta
Hawaii (HI)Honolulu
Idaho (ID)Boise
Illinois (IL)Springfield
Indiana (IN)Indianapolis
Iowa (IA)Des Moines
Kansas (KS)Topeka
Kentucky (KY)Frankfort
Louisiana (LA)Baton Rouge
Maine (ME)Augusta
Maryland (MD)Annapolis
Massachusetts (MA)Boston
Michigan (MI)Lansing
Minnesota (MN)St. Paul
Mississippi (MS)Jackson
Missouri (MO)Jefferson City
Montana (MT)Helena
Nebraska (NE)Lincoln
Nevada (NV)Carson City
New Hampshire (NH)Concord
New Jersey (NJ)Trenton
New Mexico (NM)Santa Fe
New York (NY)Albany
North Carolina (NC)Raleigh
North Dakota (ND)Bismarck
Ohio (OH)Columbus
Oklahoma (OK)Oklahoma City
Oregon (OR)Salem
Pennsylvania (PA)Harrisburg
Rhode Island (RI)Providence
South Dakota (SC)Columbia
South Dakota (SD)Pierre
Tennessee (TN)Nashville
Texas (TX)Austin
Utah (UT)Salt Lake City
Vermont (VT)Montpelier
Virginia (VA)Richmond
Washington (WA)Olympia
West Virginia (WV)Charleston
Wisconsin (WI)Madison
Wyoming (WY)Cheyenne


An unincorporated territory is an area controlled by the United States government that is not “incorporated” for the purposes of United States constitutional law. In unincorporated territories, the U.S. Constitution applies only partially.

An unorganized territory is a region of land under U.S. Sovereignty that is not within the bounds of a U.S. state and that is without a government established by the United States Congress through an organic act.

Inhabited Territories

  • American Samoa (Status: Unincorporated, unorganized)
  • Guam (Status: Unincorporated, organized)
  • Northern Mariana Islands (Status: Unincorporated, organized)
  • Puerto Rico (Status: Unincorporated, organized)
  • U.S. Virgin Islands (Status: Unincorporated, organized)

Uninhabited Territories

  • Baker Island (Status: Unincorporated; unorganized)
  • Howland Island (Status: Unincorporated; unorganized)
  • Jarvis Island (Status: Unincorporated; unorganized)
  • Johnston Atoll (Status: Unincorporated; unorganized)
  • Kingman Reef (Status: Unincorporated; unorganized)
  • Midway Atoll (Status: Unincorporated; unorganized)
  • Navassa Island (Status: Unincorporated; unorganized)
  • Palmyra Atoll (Status: Incorporated; unorganized
  • Wake Island (Status: Unincorporated; unorganized)